Juan Antonio Gonzalez Perez

Juan Antonio Gonzalez Perez

Associate professor at ETSA Las Palmas de Gran Canaria


In 1990 Juan Antonio Gonzalez Perez earned a degree in architecture from the School of Architecture (ETSA), University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, ULPGC where, since 1993 is an Associate Professor of Architectural Design.

Since 1997 he co-directs gpy arquitectos based in Santa Cruz de Tenerife.

From 2000-2010 he has been a member of Culture at Canary Islands Official College of Architects.

Awards | Competitions

He has won awards in prestigious competitions:

In 2003 he received the Bronze Medal at the Bienal Miami + Beach 2003, he won the International Prize ar+d Awards for Emerging Architecture, organized by The Architectural Review.

In the same year he was nominated for the Prize for Contemporary Architecture European Union Mies van der Rohe, and in 2008 for the Iakov Chernikhov International Prize.

In 2009 he won the Bronze Medal of the Bienal Miami + Beach 2009 and the Award My favorite work (category 'Experience') of the Superior Council of Colleges of Architects of Spain CSCAE.

Catalogue | Books

His works have been published in specialized national and international media, as in 10x10_2. 100 Architects 10 Critics in 2005, 1000x European Architecture in 2006 and The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture in 2008.


He participated, among others, in the following exhibitions:

Internal Landscapes in the Pavilion of Spain at the Mostra Internazionale d' Architettura di Venezia in 2002, On Site: New Architecture in Spain at the MoMA in New York in 2006, My Public Space in the Netherlands Architecture Institute NAI, Rotterdam in 2008 and SPANISH ARCHITECTURE 1975 - 2010. 35+ Building in democracy at the Benaki Museum, Athens / Museum Leventis, Nicosia in 2010.


The Health Center Arona-Vilaflor and Performing Arts School in Tenerife are some of his most remarkable projects.

He currently directs the work of the New School of Fine Arts at the University of La Laguna.

Concursos en los que ha colaborado